College of Medicine - Department of Basic Medical Sciences

The Department of Basic Medical Sciences is one of the academic departments of the College of Human Medicine that is concerned with providing the student with the necessary information and skills for a human medicine student for the pre-clinical stage in the following specializations:

  • Anatomy and Embryology.
  • Physiology
  • Medical Biochemistry.
  • Pathology
  • Microbiology and Immunology.
  • pharmacology.
  • Forensic medicine and toxicology.
  • Community medicine.

The duration of study in the pre-clinical stage is three academic years, during which the student is prepared for the transition from the post-clinical stage.